“What Is Yom Kippur Anyway?” by Ariel E………

Yom Kippur Neilah Service 2010

Today’s Greeting:

“Gemar Hatimah Tovah” which means “May You be finally sealed for good!”

Today’s service is dedicated to the reunification of Jews and Christians together as One Israel in Messiah Yeshua!

Candle Lighting for Yom Kippur

Baruch Atah Adonai Eloheinu Melech Ha-o-lam, Asher kidshanu B’Mitzvotav V’tzivanu L’hadlik ner shel Shabbat and Yom hakipurim.
Blessed are You, Adonai our God, King of the Universe,
Who makes us holy with Your mitzvot and commands us to kindle the lights of the Sabbath and this Yom Kippur.

The Shehecheyanu

LEADER

On Yom Kippur, recite the following blessing after the blessing for candles:

Baruch Atah Adonai Eloheinu Melech Ha-o-lam,
shehecheyanu v’kiy’manu v’higianu laz’man ha-zeh.

Blessed are You, Adonai our God, King of the Universe,
Who has granted us life, Who has sustained us,
and Who has enabled us to reach this day
Call to Repentance

LEADER

This is the House of G-d

This is the Gate of Heaven

Congregation

Open to me the gates of righteousness

I will enter them and give thanks to my G-d

Call to Repentance

LEADER

Listen Oh G-d when I cry out –Be gracious and answer me! You have said seek My presence and I seek your presence with all my heart

Do not hide from me

Congregation

I will enter Your Gates with Thanksgiving, and Your courts with singing

Call to Repentance

LEADER

Give Yourself to the Eternal G-d

And boldly enter into G-d’s Holy Place

Go through the door of Yeshua

Congregation

This is the gateway to the Infinite One

Only the righteous will enter it

Call to Repentance

Leader

Everlasting G-d we turn again to You once more, to cry out our longing and the longing of all Israel, for a beginning of the wholeness we call peace, we admit that we have turned our backs upon you, forsaking Your Torah, denying Your Truth, ignoring Your will, defacing Your Beauty.

Call to Repentance

Congregation

We have prayed for peace, even as we laughed at Your Truth, for blessing, but we did not care to do Your will in all areas of our life, we have prayed for mercy but not shown it to others, we have prayed for forgiveness without restitution, and love without sacrifice

Call to Repentance

LEADER

But You Oh L-rd are abounding in mercy and grace, so we again turn to You and not away from You, to rededicate ourselves to Your purpose, to set ourselves on the pathway of Righteousness, by observing Your Torah in Israel and all the World

Call to Repentance

Congregation

Again as the shadow of this Holy Day falls, we ask forgiveness in the Name of Yeshua HaMashiach, and we praise You Eternal

G-d who is our peace!

Ashamnu

All Together

We have all committed offenses, together we confess these sins:  The sins of arrogance, bigotry, cynicism, deceit, egotism, flattery, greed, injustice and jealousy.  We have kept grudges, were lustful, malicious, narrow minded, obstinate, possessive, quarrelsome and selfish.  There was violence, weakness of will, racism, sexism, and abuse; we yielded to temptation, and showed zeal for bad causes, and listened not to the Ruach HaKodesh our guide.  We have turned aside from your commandments, precepts and laws.  What shall we plead before you Oh great and awesome G-d; we come with the only plea we have—the blood of Yeshua our High Priest, and we plead that blood on this most holy of days.  Bashem Yeshua Amen!

Meditation
(Done in Silence)

Forgive your neighbors the wrongs they have done you, and when you pray your sins will be forgiven.  If I nurse anger against another, can I ask pardon of the Eternal One? By Showing no pity for one like myself, can I then plead for my own sins? If I nourish resentment, then who will forgive my sins?

The SHEMA-
Please Rise

ALL TOGETHER

Shema Israel Adonai Eloheinu Adonai Echad

(In a hushed but audible voice)

Baruch Shem Kivod Malchuto La’Olam V’ed

SHEMA IN ENGLISH

ALL TOGETHER

Hear O Israel the L-rd our G-d, the L-rd is One

Blessed be the glory of His glorious Kingdom forever and ever.  Amen!

Deuteronomy 6:5-9
All In Unison

5 Love the LORD your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your strength. 6 These commandments that I give you today are to be upon your hearts. 7 Impress them on your children. Talk about them when you sit at home and when you walk along the road, when you lie down and when you get up. 8 Tie them as symbols on your hands and bind them on your foreheads. 9 Write them on the doorframes of your houses and on your gates.
Deuteronomy 11:13-21
All In Unison

13 So if you faithfully obey the commands I am giving you today-to love the LORD your God and to serve him with all your heart and with all your soul- 14 then I will send rain on your land in its season, both autumn and spring rains, so that you may gather in your grain, new wine and oil. 15 I will provide grass in the fields for your cattle, and you will eat and be satisfied.
16 Be careful, or you will be enticed to turn away and worship other gods and bow down to them. 17 Then the LORD’s anger will burn against you, and he will shut the heavens so that it will not rain and the ground will yield no produce, and you will soon perish from the good land the LORD is giving you.

Deuteronomy 11:13-21
All In Unison

18 Fix these words of mine in your hearts and minds; tie them as symbols on your hands and bind them on your foreheads. 19 Teach them to your children, talking about them when you sit at home and when you walk along the road, when you lie down and when you get up. 20 Write them on the doorframes of your houses and on your gates, 21 so that your days and the days of your children may be many in the land that the LORD swore to give your forefathers, as many as the days that the heavens are above the earth.
Numbers 15:37-41
All In Unison

37 The LORD said to Moses, 38 “Speak to the Israelites and say to them: ‘Throughout the generations to come you are to make tassels on the corners of your garments, with a blue cord on each tassel. 39 You will have these tassels to look at and so you will remember all the commands of the LORD , that you may obey them and not prostitute yourselves by going after the lusts of your own hearts and eyes. 40 Then you will remember to obey all my commands and will be consecrated to your God. 41 I am the LORD your God, who brought you out of Egypt to be your God. I am the LORD your God.’ ”
YOM KIPPUR (SHABBAT) GREETING

Grab someone you don’t already know and greet them with a hearty

“Shabbat Shalom”  and “May You be finally sealed for good!”

in the love of Messiah!

YOM KIPPUR OFFERING

Blessing on the Children

Parents you can now release your Children To Rabbi’s Daughter Rebecca—our Children’s Director—as they head downstairs.

LITURGY
The following is all responsive reading

Al Chet
All In Unison

1. For the mistakes we committed before You under duress and willingly.

Silently Reflect

Ask yourself:

Duress:

Did I put myself into compromising situations, and then when I got into trouble rationalize by saying it was “unavoidable” or “accidental?”

Al Chet

2. For the mistakes we committed before You through having a hard heart

Silently Reflect

Ask yourself:

Did I ignore the poor and the weak?

When I did give charity, was it done enthusiastically or begrudgingly?

Was I kind, compassionate and loving when my family and friends needed me to be?

Al Chet

3. For the mistakes we committed before You without thinking (or without knowledge)

Silently Reflect

Ask yourself:

Do I carefully examine my society and surroundings, weighing out what is right and what is wrong?

Do I constantly review my major goals in life?

Al Chet

4. For the mistakes we committed before You through things we blurted out with our lips.

Silently Reflect

Ask yourself:

Do I think before I speak?

Am I prone to thoughtless outbursts?

Do I make hasty promises that I am unlikely to fulfill?

Al Chet

5. For the mistake we committed before You in public and in private.

Silently Reflect

Ask yourself:

Public:

Did I do foolish or degrading things to attract attention or approval?

On the other hand, did I do good deeds in public, that I otherwise wouldn’t have done — simply so that others would see me?

Private:

Did I act privately in a way that I would be ashamed if anyone found out?

Did I consider how God is watching even in my most private moments?

Al Chet

6. For the mistakes we committed before You through immorality.

Silently Reflect

Ask yourself:

Did I speak or act in a way that lowered sexuality as a vehicle for spiritual connection?

Do I realize how sexual immorality reduces the spiritual potential of future, more holy unions?

Al Chet

7. For the mistakes we committed before You through harsh speech

Silently Reflect

Ask yourself:

Did I speak to anyone in a harsh and forceful manner?

Did I gossip?

Al Chet

8. For the mistakes we committed before You with knowledge and deceit.

Silently Reflect

Ask yourself:

Did I use knowledge of a certain situation to deceive others?

Did I use knowledge to deceive myself — i.e. did I rationalize away my bad actions?

Al Chet

9. For the mistakes we committed before You through inner thoughts.

Silently Reflect

Ask yourself:

Did I think in a negative way about people, or wish bad upon them?

Did I fantasize about doing bad deeds?

Al Chet

10. For the mistakes we committed before You through wronging a friend

Silently Reflect

Ask yourself:

Did I strive to go out of my way to help friends, based on my commitment to be their friend?

Was I insensitive toward my friends’ needs, or did I hurt their feelings?

Did I take advantage of someone who trusted me as a friend?

Al Chet

11. For the mistakes we committed before You through insincere confession.

Silently Reflect

Ask yourself:

Did I ever apologize without being sincere?

Have I committed myself to “change” without seriously following up?

Al Chet

12. For the mistakes we committed before You while gathering to do negative things.

Silently Reflect

Ask yourself:

Am I part of a regular group that discusses negative things?

Did I participate in a gathering that led to negative activities?

Am I careful to associate only with moral and ethical people?

Al Chet

13. For the mistakes we committed before You willfully and unintentionally

Silently Reflect

Willfully:

Did I ever “act out” in a desire to demonstrate my independence from God?

Unintentionally:

Did I make mistakes out of carelessness? Could they have been avoided?

Al Chet

14. For the mistakes we committed before You by degrading parents and teachers

Silently Reflect

Ask yourself:

Parents:

Do I sometimes think poorly of my parents?

Do I ever actually communicate a dislike toward them?

Teachers:

Have I maximized opportunities to learn from rabbis and teachers?

Have I actively sought the guidance and counsel of wise people?

Al Chet

15. For the mistakes we committed before You by exercising power

Silently Reflect

Ask yourself:

Did I take advantage of those who are weak — either physically, economically or politically?

Did I manipulate or intimidate someone into doing something he/she would really rather not have?

Al Chet

16. For the mistakes we committed before You through desecrating God’s name.

Silently Reflect

Ask yourself:

Did I ever act in a way that brought less honor and respect to God?

Did I take every opportunity to enlighten others about the beauty of Torah?

Al Chet

17. For the mistakes we committed before You with foolish speech.

Silently Reflect

Ask yourself:

Did I waste time by talking about trivial things?

Do I seek to share words of Torah at every opportunity?

Al Chet

18. For the mistakes we committed before You with vulgar speech.

Silently Reflect

Ask yourself:

Did I contaminate my mouth with vulgar speech?

Did I listen to vulgar speech or jokes?

Did I protest when I heard vulgar speech?

Al Chet

19. For the mistakes we committed before You with the Yetzer Hara (evil inclination)

Silently Reflect

Ask yourself:

Have I pursued my physical drives for their own sake — without involving any spiritual dimension?

Do I resort to the excuse that “I couldn’t help myself”?

Have I studied Torah techniques for channeling physical drives into holiness?

Al Chet

20. For the mistakes we committed before You against those who know, and those that do not know.

Silently Reflect

Ask yourself:

Have I wronged people behind their backs?

Have I wronged people to their faces?

Al Chet

21. For the mistakes we committed before You through bribery.

Silently Reflect

Ask yourself:

Have I compromised my honesty and integrity because of money?

Have I compromised myself for the sake of honor and flattery?

Have I failed to do the right thing because I wanted approval?

Al Chet

22. For the mistakes we committed before You through denial and false promises

Silently Reflect

Ask yourself:

Have I lied to myself?

Have I lied to others?

Does my job ever involve having to lie?

Have I rationalized the acceptability of a “white lie”?

Al Chet

23. For the mistakes we committed before You through negative speech (Loshon Hara)

Silently Reflect

Ask yourself:

Do I enjoy gossip?

When I hear gossip, do I accept it as true, or do I reserve judgment?

Have I set aside time to study Jewish law on how to avoid Loshon Hara?

Al Chet

24. For the mistakes we committed before You through being scornful (or scoffing)

Silently Reflect

Ask yourself:

Did I mock and ridicule serious things?

Did I make fun of someone who I considered less intelligent or attractive?

Did I shrug off constructive criticism as meaningless?

Al Chet

25. For the mistakes we committed before You in business.

Silently Reflect

Ask yourself:

Have I been scrupulously honest in all my financial transactions?

Was I harsh in trying to beat the competition, or did I seek ways for us both to thrive?

Have I chosen a career that gives me freedom to pursue my personal and spiritual goals as well?

When I was successful in business, did I show my appreciation to God for that success?

Al Chet

26. For the mistakes we committed before You with food and drink.

Silently Reflect

Ask yourself: Did I express gratitude to God for providing me with the food?

Did I overeat?

Did I eat unhealthy (not biblically kosher) foods?

Did I waste food?

Al Chet

27. For the mistakes we committed before You through interest and extortion

Silently Reflect

Ask yourself:

Have I made a profit as a result of someone’s misfortune or downfall?

Am I greedy?

Am I stingy?

Do I feel responsible for helping to satisfy the needs of others

Al Chet

28. For the mistakes we committed before You by being arrogant.

Silently Reflect

Ask yourself:

Have I made others feel lowly in order to raise myself higher?

Do I dress and speak in a way that draws extra attention to myself?

When walking through a door, do I usually go first, or let others go first?

Al Chet

29. For the mistakes we committed before You with eye movements.

Silently Reflect

Ask yourself:

Did I look at someone’s private things that were not my business?

Did I gawk at an accident scene on the freeway?

Did I look at the opposite gender in an inappropriate and disrespectful way?

Al Chet

30. For the mistakes we committed before You with endless babbling

Silently Reflect

Ask yourself:

Do I participate in conversations with no meaningful content?

Do I think before speaking and measure my words carefully?

Am I careful to concentrate when reciting prayers and blessings?

Al Chet

31. For the mistakes we committed before You with haughty eyes

Silently Reflect

Ask yourself:

Do I communicate warmth and care to people with my eyes?

Have I avoided interacting with certain people because I felt they were too unimportant for me?

Have my career and relationships suffered because my ego is over-inflated?

Al Chet

32. For the mistakes we committed before You with a strong forehead (brazenness)

Silently Reflect

Ask yourself:

Do I examine the moral consequences before making difficult decisions?

Do I appreciate how my moral behavior defines me as a human being?

Al Chet

33. For the mistakes we committed before You in throwing off the yoke (i.e. refusing to accept responsibility)

Silently Reflect

Ask yourself:

Have I accepted family responsibilities, and gladly assisted whenever needed?

Do I keep my commitments to friends?

Do I show up on time?

Al Chet

34. For the mistakes we committed before You in judgment

Silently Reflect

Ask yourself:

Am I in the habit of judging people favorably?

Do I wait to make any determination until I have all the information?

Do I sometimes judge God unfairly?

Al Chet

35. For the mistakes we committed before You in entrapping a friend

Silently Reflect

Ask yourself:

Have I violated the trust of people who have confidence in me?

Have I divulged confidential information?

Have I taken advantage of family and friends by manipulating them into doing me favors?

Al Chet

36. For the mistakes we committed before You through jealousy (lit: “a begrudging eye”)

Silently Reflect

Ask yourself:

Do I experience resentment at the success of others? Or do I experience genuine joy?

Do I feel that others are undeserving of their success?

Do I secretly wish to have my neighbor’s things for myself?

Al Chet

37. For the mistakes we committed before You through light-headedness

Silently Reflect

Ask yourself:

Do I spend time reading unimportant sections of the newspaper, or listening to frivolity on the radio?

Do I spend time with friends and colleagues discussing inconsequential details of sports and entertainment?

Do I act with proper reverence when I’m in a synagogue or learning Torah?

Al Chet

38. For the mistakes we committed before You by being stiff-necked.

Silently Reflect

Ask yourself:

When I’m involved in a disagreement, am I frequently anxious and upset, rather than calm and rational?

Do I think that I’m always right? Do I usually let the other person speak first, or do I always want to speak first

Al Chet

39. For the mistakes we committed before You by running to do evil.

Silently Reflect

Ask yourself:

When I transgressed the Torah, did I do so eagerly?

Did I run to do mitzvot with the same enthusiasm?

Did I slow down when reciting blessings and prayers?

Al Chet

40. For the mistakes we committed before You by telling people what others said about them

Silently Reflect

Ask yourself:

Have I encouraged contention, and turned people against each other?

Did I reveal secrets?

Al Chet

41. For the mistakes we committed before You through vain oath taking

Silently Reflect

Ask yourself:

Have I been careful not to utter God’s Name casually? (Or worse yet: “I swear to G–!”)

When I use God’s Name in a blessing or prayer, do I concentrate on the deeper meaning of His Name?

Have I sworn or promised falsely while invoking God’s Name?

Al Chet

42. For the mistakes we committed before You through baseless hatred

Silently Reflect

Ask yourself:

Was I disrespectful toward Jews who are not exactly like me in practice or philosophy?

When I disagree with someone on an issue, have I let it degrade into a dislike for the person himself?

When I saw a fellow Jew do evil, did I hate only the deed, or did it extend into a hatred for the person himself?

Al Chet

43. For the mistakes we committed before You in extending the hand

Silently Reflect

Ask yourself:

Have I withheld from touching things that don’t belong to me?

Have I stretched forth my hand to the poor and the needy?

Have I joined hands with wicked people?

Al Chet

44. For the mistakes we committed before You through confusion of the heart

Silently Reflect

Ask yourself:

Have I not worked out issues because of laziness?

Have I made mistakes because I emotionally did not want to accept what I logically knew to be correct?

Have I properly developed my priorities and life goals?

Blessing of Our Lips
Please Stand

LEADER

May the words of my mouth, and the meditation of my heart , be acceptable to You O G-d, my Rock and my Redeemer

Blessing of Our Lips

Congregation

May the One who causes peace to reign in the Highest Heaven, cause peace to descend upon us, and all Israel, and all the world–Bashem Y’Shua Amen!

The Arc is open—All Rise

Avinu Malkeinu-Our Father Our King
(Done in unison)

Avinu Malkeinu—let the gates of Heaven be open to our plea

Avinu Malkeinu—Do not turn us away from Your presence empty handed

Avinu Malkeinu—Forgive and pardon our misdeeds

Avinu Malkeinu—remember that we are dust

Avinu Malkeinu-Our Father Our King
(Done in unison)

Avinu Malkeinu—have compassion on us and our children

Avinu Malkeinu—seal us for blessing in the book of life

Avinu Malkeinu—Let the New Year be a good one for us all

Avinu Malkeinu-Our Father Our King
(Done in unison)

Avinu Malkeinu—Make and end to all oppression

Avinu Malkeinu—hasten the time of Your return

Avinu Malkeinu—Be kind and forgiving

Avinu Malkeinu-Our Father Our King
(Done in Unison)

Avinu Malkeinu—Give strength to your people Israel

Avinu Malkeinu—Be gracious and answer us, for we come in the name of Y’Shua HaMoshiach.  Treat us generously and with loving kindness, be our help, Bashem Y’Shua Amen!

The Arc is closed–Please Be Seated

Confession of Sin

LEADER

Our G-d and G-d of our forefathers, we pray that our prayers reach you, and that You turn not a deaf ear to our pleas for mercy, for we are not so arrogant and stiff necked as to stand before You and insinuate that we have not sinned; rather we confess that we have gone astray and sinned, together with the whole House of Israel– Bashem Yeshua Amen!

Confession of Sin

LEADER

Restore us Oh G-d, and restore us again with the light of Your presence, that we may find deliverance

Bashem Yeshua Amen

Confession of Sin

Congregation

Open the gates for us, even now, when the gates are closing, and the day begins to fade.  Let us enter into your Holy Presence and enter Your Gates by the blood of Yeshua our Kohen Gadol

Bashem Yeshua Amen!

AMIDAH

LEADER

Blessed are you L-rd our G-d and G-d of our forefathers, G-d of Abraham, G-d of Isaac, and G-d of Jacob, the great and mighty awesome G-d, the most high G-d; Who bestows grace and creates all, and remembers the kindness of the fathers, and brings a redeemer to their children’s children, for His name sake with love. Amen!

Concluding Liturgy

LEADER

Let Your great Name be blessed forever and ever!

Congregation

Let You Name be exalted and honored, though You are beyond all praises we can utter in this world, and let us say: Amen!

Concluding Liturgy

LEADER

Oh Maker of Heaven and Earth, Divine Parent of all Israel, accept the prayers and supplications of Your people Israel

Bashem Yeshua Amen

Concluding Liturgy

Congregation

For us, and all of Israel, for all men and women, may the blessing of peace and the promise of life eternal come true.

Bashem Yeshua Amen

Concluding Liturgy

LEADER

As You make peace on high, so let it now descend unto us, the peace that Yeshua our Messiah left us with as the bridegroom’s gift to His bride.  May it flow to all Israel wherever they may be scattered throughout the world You created for us.

Bashem Yeshua Amen!

Concluding Liturgy

ALL TOGETHER-Christian and Jew as One

“Hear O Israel the L-rd our G-d the L-rd is One!”

Bashem Yeshua Amen

What Is Yom Kippur Anyway?

This was the holiest of days for on this Day the Priest would enter into the Holy of Holies to make atonement for His own sins and the sins of the entire nation—would G-d judge the nation by slaying the High Priest—or would the sacrifice be accepted?

This is the 6th Festival of the L-rd.  The number 6 is the number of Man, indicating this feast is about purification of the Bride of Messiah

Yom Kippur means a day for covering man’s sins

Yom Kippur

The first time we see the word “Kippur” in the scriptures it is described as “pitch”

We see Noah covering the Arc with this “Pitch”

This has the same meaning as the word Kaphor in Hebrew

It means to not only cover—but conceals and protects

Noah and His family escaped the judgement of G-d with this “Kippur”

Yom Kippur

The Priest, who normally wore the Armor of G-d, would disrobe, bath himself in a Mikvah  for the washing away of sins and would put on a Linen Garment and the golden vestments performing the regular daily offerings (Burnt Offering. Incense Offering, Daily Meal Offering, Etc.

Again He would Mikvah—washing away the blood

Draw Lots for the Goats: One for G-d, the Other for Azazel

Yom Kippur

The Hebrew word Azazel means “scapegoat”

This means goat of departure—or scapegoat

The Torah ordained that the priest would plunge his hand into a bag that contained two lots—One for G-d the other the Azazel

On Yom Kippur the One marked for G-d would always appear in his right hand—a sign that G-d was going to accept the sacrificial offering for the people

In the Priest left hand would appear the one marked for Azazel

Yom Kippur

The goat marked for G-d would be sacrificed and its blood would be offered for the sins of the people

The second goat was led into the wilderness, and supposed to be set free

A crimson thread would be tied to the door of the Temple

When the Azazel died, the Crimson thread turned to white—signifying that G-d accepted the blood sacrifice

The House of Ephraim and Judah

The House of Judah represents the Goat marked for G-d, and The House of Ephraim represents the goat that was led into the wilderness, as the Ten Northern Tribes were scattered to the Nations and lost their identity

Both are the Bride of Messiah and His blood atonement paid for the redemption of both

Back to the Priest

The Priest would then put on linen garments and would slaughter a bull for His own sins.  He would take this blood into the Holy of Holies—Behind the curtain. Torah commanded that the Priest must enter with blood for Himself and incense  or He would surely die. But first He had to sprinkle the curtain of the Holy of Holies with the blood of the Bull for Himself, and the Goat for the People

Announcing the name of G-d: YHWH

10 Times the Priest would announce the Holy Name of G-d     YHVH

Also crying out G-ds Name in testimony to the Ten Lost Tribes that became scattered

6 times for the Bull, 3 times for the Goat, and once for the Lots that were chosen

Those who could hear this would all fall on their faces and cry out “ Blessed be His Name whose Glorious Kingdom is forever and ever!!”

How would we know if our sacrifice was accepted?

The Talmud records:

1-Every Year when the Priest placed his hands in to draw out the scapegoat lot—the One that said “The L-rds” would be in his right hand—a sign of G-ds favor

2-The Crimson Cord would turn white

3-The Western Most Light in the Temple Menorah would burn

4-The Temple doors remained closed

Messiah as our Atonement Sacrifice

Yeshua Bore our sins upon his Own Body

He is the Lamb that was slain

He is scapegoat of our redemption

He lifted this incredible fear that we would have lived under—and all of its bondage

Establishing Himself as the Royal priest according to the Line of Melchizedek

Hebrews 9:11-14

11When Christ came as high priest of the good things that are already here,[2] he went through the greater and more perfect tabernacle that is not man-made, that is to say, not a part of this creation. 12He did not enter by means of the blood of goats and calves; but he entered the Most Holy Place once for all by his own blood, having obtained eternal redemption. 13The blood of goats and bulls and the ashes of a heifer sprinkled on those who are ceremonially unclean sanctify them so that they are outwardly clean. 14How much more, then, will the blood of Christ, who through the eternal Spirit offered himself unblemished to God, cleanse our consciences from acts that lead to death,[3] so that we may serve the living God!
Messiah was Sacrificed in 30 CE

Remember our Talmud list?

1-Every Year when the Priest placed his hands in to draw out the scapegoat lot—the One that said “The L-rds” would be in his right hand—a sign of G-ds favor

From the Time of Messiahs Crucifixion through the Temple destruction in 70CE—The Lot “The L-rds” came out in the Priests left hand—a sign the sacrifice was not accepted

Messiah was Sacrificed in 30 CE

2-The Crimson Cord would turn white

But from 30 CE on toward the Temple Destruction the Crimson Cord remained Stained red

3-The Western Most Light in the Temple Menorah would burn

But from Messiah’s Crucifixion onward the Candle would never burn again

Messiah was Sacrificed in 30 CE

4-The Temple doors remained closed

From 30CE to the destruction of the Second temple in 70 CE the doors to the Temple would open by themselves—as a sure sign of judgement to come

Hence G-d has never accepted a Yom Kippur sacrifice since Yeshuas death—and even the traditional Rabbi’s agree to that!

Yeshuas Sacrifice was once and for all!

Cleansing our conscience

The reason the Levitical Priesthood performed the same sacrifices year after year is that through the blood of the Bull and of Goats—nobody could be free from their conscience

The sacrifice caused your sins to be passed over—never done away with—so the feelings of guilt remained

Hebrews 10:10-18

10And by that will, we have been made holy through the sacrifice of the body of Jesus Christ once for all.
11Day after day every priest stands and performs his religious duties; again and again he offers the same sacrifices, which can never take away sins. 12But when this priest had offered for all time one sacrifice for sins, he sat down at the right hand of God. 13Since that time he waits for his enemies to be made his footstool,

Hebrews 10:10-18

14because by one sacrifice he has made perfect forever those who are being made holy.
15The Holy Spirit also testifies to us about this. First he says:
16″This is the covenant I will make with them
after that time, says the Lord.
I will put my laws in their hearts,
and I will write them on their minds.”[2] 17Then he adds:
“Their sins and lawless acts
I will remember no more.”[3] 18And where these have been forgiven, there is no longer any sacrifice for sin

Making us a Royal Priesthood

G-d is restoring through our High Priests Sacrifice the fellowship we have together as Israel:  Jews and Christians together as One!

Judah turned away following after the ways of Solomon—and not David

Ephraim turned away, following the ways of Jeroboam –and not David

Yet David’s Seed would reign for all eternity

Through this sacrifice the 2 goats are becoming One complete sacrifice in Messiahs Body!

1 Peter 2:9-10

9But you are a chosen people, a royal priesthood, a holy nation, a people belonging to God, that you may declare the praises of him who called you out of darkness into his wonderful light. 10Once you were not a people, but now you are the people of God; once you had not received mercy, but now you have received mercy.
We MUST follow the example of the High Priest

Yeshua became the High Priest, by offering up His own Body

He lived a life guided by Torah—G-ds Teachings and Instructions

When He was cursed, beaten, abused, spat upon, and died—He didn’t open His mouth—What about You?

1 Peter 2:21-24

21To this you were called, because Christ suffered for you, leaving you an example, that you should follow in his steps.
22″He committed no sin,
and no deceit was found in his mouth.”[5] 23When they hurled their insults at him, he did not retaliate; when he suffered, he made no threats. Instead, he entrusted himself to him who judges justly. 24He himself bore our sins in his body on the tree, so that we might die to sins and live for righteousness; by his wounds you have been healed.

Are you really different than the World?

Do you seek riches and prosperity—is that why you go to services?

Are you more concerned with your appearance, than with how G-d will judge your spirit?

Has your faith caused you to care for the poor, widows and orphans—Things G-d calls good?

Scoffers of the Last Days

Yeshua said “if You Love Me Keep My Commandments” John 14:15

1 John 3:4 says that to sin is to violate G-ds Torah—His teaching and Instruction

1 John 5:2-3 says “This is how we know that we love the children of God: by loving God and carrying out his commands. 3This is love for God: to obey his commands. And his commands are not burdensome, 4for everyone born of God overcomes the world. This is the victory that has overcome the world, even our faith “

So Our Love of G-d and loving our Neighbor and even our Faith is proven by keeping G-ds commandments

How Will we know our sacrifice is going to be accepted?

Please Turn to 2 Peter Chapter 2

1But there were also false prophets among the people, just as there will be false teachers among you. They will secretly introduce destructive heresies, even denying the sovereign Lord who bought them—bringing swift destruction on themselves. 2Many will follow their shameful ways and will bring the way of truth into disrepute. 3In their greed these teachers will exploit you with stories they have made up. Their condemnation has long been hanging over them, and their destruction has not been sleeping.

4For if God did not spare angels when they sinned, but sent them to hell, putting them into gloomy dungeons to be held for judgment; 5if he did not spare the ancient world when he brought the flood on its ungodly people, but protected Noah, a preacher of righteousness, and seven others; 6if he condemned the cities of Sodom and Gomorrah by burning them to ashes, and made them an example of what is going to happen to the ungodly; 7and if he rescued Lot, a righteous man, who was distressed by the filthy lives of lawless men 8(for that righteous man, living among them day after day, was tormented in his righteous soul by the lawless deeds he saw and heard)— 9if this is so, then the Lord knows how to rescue godly men from trials and to hold the unrighteous for the day of judgment, while continuing their punishment. 10This is especially true of those who follow the corrupt desire of the sinful nature and despise authority.   Bold and arrogant, these men are not afraid to slander celestial beings; 11yet even angels, although they are stronger and more powerful, do not bring slanderous accusations against such beings in the presence of the Lord. 12But these men blaspheme in matters they do not understand. They are like brute beasts, creatures of instinct, born only to be caught and destroyed, and like beasts they too will perish.  13They will be paid back with harm for the harm they have done. Their idea of pleasure is to carouse in broad daylight. They are blots and blemishes, reveling in their pleasures while they feast with you. 14With eyes full of adultery, they never stop sinning; they seduce the unstable; they are experts in greed—an accursed brood! 15They have left the straight way and wandered off to follow the way of Balaam son of Beor, who loved the wages of wickedness. 16But he was rebuked for his wrongdoing by a donkey—a beast without speech—who spoke with a man’s voice and restrained the prophet’s madness.  17These men are springs without water and mists driven by a storm. Blackest darkness is reserved for them. 18For they mouth empty, boastful words and, by appealing to the lustful desires of sinful human nature, they entice people who are just escaping from those who live in error. 19They promise them freedom, while they themselves are slaves of depravity—for a man is a slave to whatever has mastered him. 20If they have escaped the corruption of the world by knowing our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ and are again entangled in it and overcome, they are worse off at the end than they were at the beginning. 21It would have been better for them not to have known the way of righteousness, than to have known it and then to turn their backs on the sacred command that was passed on to them. 22Of them the proverbs are true: “A dog returns to its vomit,”[f]and, “A sow that is washed goes back to her wallowing in the mud.”

Traditional Kol Nidre
“Every Idle Word will Be Judged”
(together in unison)

All personal vows we may make,
All personal oaths and pledges we may take
Between this Yom Kippur and the Yom Kippur to come,
We publicly renounce.
May they all be relinquished and abandoned,
Null and void, neither firm nor established.
Let our personal vows, pledges and oaths
Be considered neither vows nor pledges nor oaths– Bashem Y’Shua Amen

Sounding the Shofar

SHOFAR IS SOUNDED

All Together as One

L’Shanah Haba’ah Bi’rushaliyim

Next Year in Jerusalem!

Concluding Blessing

Yevarechecha Adonai Viyishmerecha

Ya’er Adonai panav elecha vichunecha

Yisa Adonai panav elecha

Vayesem lecha Shalom

Concluding Blessing

May the L-rd Bless you  and keep you

May the L-rd shine His face upon you

And be gracious to you

May the L-rd lift up His countenance upon you

And grant you peace!

5771 CE

To all our faithful ones,

Sarah and I would like to wish that you are finally sealed for blessing this and each year until we see the joyful fruit of our faith revealed.  Yom Kippur is more than a “High Holy Day;”  Yom Kippur is a daily commitment to walk in the newness of life that has been provided to all who have been ingrafted to the natural olive tree that is the people of Israel.  Your former background has been washed away–and all things have been made new.  What started in and of the nations, has been transformed into and of the Jewish people and Israel.  Come out from among the paganism of this day which is the “Jimmy Gimee” and “Easy Grace” that is sold to the masses and be separated out BY YOUR LIFESTYLE in the coming year and beyond.

The Ehrmantrout family and all that labor together with us forgive and release any and all people for any and all things that they may or may not have done to harm us in the past.  We also ask that if we have acted in any way toward you or your family that is in any way less than the standards as set forth by our Rabbeinu Yeshua Messiah –please forgive us based on His offerings and not our own.

We bless you with a happy and successful 5771 and pray that next year we will all be in Jerusalem where it will no longer need to be said ” L’Shanah Haba’ah Bi’rushaliyim” which means  “Next Year in Jerusalem!

Shalom

Ariel, Sarah and the Ehrmantrout family.

©2010 all rights reserved worldwide

Leave a Reply

